Getting in the Groove

So tomorrow begins my 3rd week here in SK. I can’t say my time has gone either fast or slow so far, but I have experienced a lot already: emotionally, spiritually, and socially. This last week was my first full week of teaching and I will admit that some days were better than others. My job is fairly easy, which doesn’t always make the time go fast, but does alleviate a lot of stress usually associated with education. I was fortunate enough to meet some new friends last Thursday (*see picture) and then again on Friday night. It’s my hope that I can build some personal relationships with several others so that I can be salt and light in my city. It seemed only fitting that in the sermon at church today, Pastor Jimmy preached straight out of the book of Matthew.

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on a stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.” Matt. 5:13-15

I’ve felt a real pull from God that he wants me to create these intentional relationships with Christ-followers and those who might not yet know Jesus. I felt very encouraged after meeting with my new church family following the service. They really seem to be a people who want to support and love one another!

This week I am looking forward to the opportunity to play some soccer (football for our international readers!). Also, this week concludes the summer work schedule which means my last week of teaching 7-8 classes each day! I’ve already talked to several other foreigners who have expressed interest in traveling to China, Thailand, Japan, and all around Korea. I’m really looking forward to taking advantage of some of these travel opportunities. Any suggestions on where to go?! Lastly, I’ve been doing a lot of experimentation with foods that I’m picking up at the grocery store. All I have to cook with is a two-burner stove. Tonight I tried to cook corn dogs in a skillet and only warmed up the breading before they started to turn black. Nevertheless, I still ate those corn dogs like a crunchy, salty, popsicle. Any ideas on how to cook corn dogs on the stove or any other foods I can make? I’m open to suggestions!

My journey thus far has been filled with many blessings. However, on some levels this transition of “Getting in the Groove” has been quite difficult for me. I feel like I underestimated the complexity of not only finding your way in a new country/culture/language but also establishing yourself as an adult! Also, being the people person that I am, accepting the significant time I spend alone has been a real challenge! So, here’s where you come in! Please be praying in these areas:

~That I can create many personal relationships with those I come into contact with
~Peace in solitude
~Patience in understanding God’s plan for my life
~My soon to be travel buddy, Jessi Grostefon, will be arriving in just about a month. Pray for her preparation in coming to Korea.
~Also, two of my best friends, Becca Prieb & Katie Heisey, will be traveling to several countries come this September; please keep them in your thoughts as they acquire the proper traveling documents and prepare for wherever God leads them. Follow them at http://beckat.wordpress.com/

That’s it for this update. Thank you so much for your prayers and support of me! God Bless!

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Living in Korea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting in the Groove

  1. Will Cramer says:

    I know what you mean when you say “trying to figure out what God’s plan is for your life. I wonder too after filling out 125 applications to open positions and went through 10 interviews and I still sit at home wondering what my life will look like this fall. I have taken comfort in listening to sermon messages from Andy Stanley (North Point Community Church), Steven Furtick (Elevation Church), and attending Granger Community Church. Obviously, the common thread is Jesus Christ. I hate to admit it, but it is reality. I have been chasing the wrong dream. My dream was selfish, self-glorifying, and focused on my personal success. Instead, I should have been focused on Jesus. I am learning to trust in God, to be content with my life (though not being lazy!), and to serve Him through giving and serving others in whatever means that may look like in the near future. As for you Caleb, I commend you for being courageous and “stepping out in faith” as some would say. The way you are living life in Korea and doing the right things is respectable and admirable. As a friend and as a person still searching for a rich relationship with Jesus, I am excited to hear more posts about your spiritual life, teaching life, and social life! Keep strong. Look forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

