Weekend Adventures

Another week in Korea, another week of things to talk about. The work week itself had its ups and downs no doubt but it was the weekend that gave me a chance to relax and enjoy life here. Friday evening I met up with about 40-50 other foreign teachers in a city park. It was a really good time of fellowship, music playing, and most importantly unwinding from the week. Later in the evening some friends and I headed to an international hotel where a Filipino cover band named “Fuse” was jammin’. They were so much fun to listen/dance to. We stayed until their set ended and talked to them afterward. They were such friendly people. I later found out that they were Christians themselves!

Saturday I went to test drive scooters (mopeds) with my new Korean friend Tae Woo. I found one that I liked pretty well so we did a little negotiating and I got ready for my test drive. Well, it didn’t go so well. While attempting to pull out of the shop, I accelerated to hard, then too little and ended up running sideways into a guard rail. It was a pretty dumb mistake on my part and I attribute it to my lack of experience. After getting up off the road and yelling at myself for my stupidity, I realized that I hadn’t done too much damage to the bike or myself, praise the Lord! The shop attendants cleaned me up and pretty much feeling obligated to purchase the vehicle, I went for a 2nd test drive. This one went much better and I felt pretty comfortable on the “speed demon” (temporary nickname for it; i’m taking suggestions for a proper nickname).  

Fortunately, I walked away from the accident with only cuts and scrapes on my hands. Trust me when I say, it could have been much worse! That evening I went out and hung with my Korean coworkers. We had an amazing dinner and I even met a local American couple in the restaurant that gave me their contact info! After dinner we had dessert and then headed to participate in some Noriban (Korean style karaoke). It was a blast!

On Sunday I decided to try out a new international church, Hanbit Christian Fellowship. It was fantastic. I really enjoyed the preaching and the atmosphere and I look forward to returning there again. It was really great when they played to staple Bethel College Chapel Band songs. It made me miss Bethel but it felt good to sing those songs again. An added bonus was that the band from Friday night was there and they sang some worship songs for the congregation! After church I was treated by some members of the church to a lunch and then Stephen and I headed back to Jinhae. We had a lot of fun exploring some of the finer parts of my town including a lookout tower and some very interesting workout equipment (see video/pictures to come). Sunday afternoon I attended a bible study with several members of Hanbit and then headed home to have dinner and fellowship with Kris, my American friend/coworker.

It was a really busy but fun weekend. God has definitely blessed my time here and surrounded with a family away from home. I’m continuing to grow in my faith in His plan and I’m finding so much joy in drawing closer to Him! I’m here for a reason and all I can do is trust in the Lord for direction. He truly is so good all the time and this experience reminds me of that every day.

Thank you so much for your prayers! Please continue to pray for me and others in these ways…

~Quick healing for the cuts on my hands
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers
~Direction for friends & family stateside who are looking for jobs
~My fellow American teacher Kris has just recently broken his elbow. Please pray for his recovery/healing process.
~That I can continue to foster the relationships that I have created
~Patience in understanding God’s plan for my life
~My soon to be travel buddy, Jessi Grostefon, will be arriving in just 2 weeks! Pray for her preparation in coming to Korea.
~Becca Prieb & Katie Heisey, are currently traveling and serving God in Thailand; Follow them at http://beckat.wordpress.com/

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in New Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

