a scooter & couch will make me happy…

…and they have! What an answer to prayer! God has definitely been providing for me in my time here and his provision has certainly brought me joy! Of course, I receive more joy just from the love He offers each and every morning, but the occasional material item is a nice bonus! 🙂 *See pictures below for the scooter and couch– also check out the poll for naming the scooter. I want your input!


Life’s been good. I’ve quickly realized that “working for the weekend” takes on a whole new meaning here! Afterall, it’s during the weekends that I get to explore and discover this wonderful land! So, in spirit of that notion, I traveled this last weekend to Busan with my friends Stephen and Hannah. We had a really nice time meeting some new friends from around Korea, taking a quick dip in the ocean, and visiting a Buddhist temple. The beach was a ton of fun because it had been storming all morning and the waves were really big! I guess they were “too big” and some Korean lifeguards kicked us out of the water! Did I mention that we were the only ones on the beach actually IN the water?? The temple was very beautiful and there were plenty of little Buddhas to look at. When I visit places of worship like that I am always given a heavy heart. I look at all these people bowing to idles and humbling themselves in front of statues and I feel really sorry for them. How can Satan have so much power in orchestrating such a big deception in millions or even billions of people’s lives? I spent a little bit of time praying over the buildings and giant Buddhas and asked God to reveal himself in these places.

I’m officially going to Japan in one week from now! I’ll be traveling to the southern island of Fukuoka with my friends Brittani and Shyla. It should be a really great time of exploration! This week I’m continuing to strive towards my lofty goal of running a full marathon at the end of November. I have a couple of races in October (one a half marathon and the other a 13k) that will hopefully prepare me. Also, in a couple of weeks I will be meeting with a group of guys to start TTT or Testosterone Television Tuesdays. I’m looking forward to some fellowship and manly movie watching!

Thank you for your continued prayers for me and others in need. God has really taught me the importance of a church not just as a building but as a group of believers that are mobile and moldable. We are the church and we don’t need walls and a foundation to be connected in Christ! Please continue to pray in these ways~

~Family members back in Indiana mourning the loss of an amazing woman, Evelyn Bowling
~Becca Prieb’s health while traveling abroad
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers
~Direction for friends & family stateside who are looking for jobs
~Patience in understanding God’s plan for my life
~My soon to be travel buddy, Jessi Grostefon, will be arriving in just 2 weeks! Pray for her preparation in coming to Korea.
~Becca Prieb & Katie Heisey, are currently traveling and serving God in Thailand. They travel to Bangladesh this week; Follow them at http://beckat.wordpress.com/

Praises! (answers to your prayers):

~The cuts have been healing well and there has been no infection
~My co-worker, Kris, has been recovering well from his elbow surgery
~Finding a free couch (and TV stand) and finally getting my scooter
~Becca & Katie are having a wonderful, safe time in Thailand right now

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Korean Travels, Living in Korea, New Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

