2 months and rolling

Now with the second month under my belt, I’m really starting to get a feel for what day-to-day life of living in Korea is like. The summer I left behind already seems a lifetime away and the cool of the Korean October wind is reminding me that the winter is coming. While I probably won’t see much snow around these parts, that frigid cold that played my nemesis in Indiana will certainly make itself known here. The change in the weather has been a nice alternative to the hot and humid days spent in my first weeks in Korea. It’s also made my runs much more enjoyable as I prepare for my international running debut next Sunday! It’ll be quite different from the 30,000 participants who I ran alongside of this May in Indy: this “half” has only a few hundred runners!

Last week brought the arrival of long time friend, Jessi Grostefon. I spent the weekend visiting her in Gimhae, which is about a 35 minute bus ride from Changwon. She then came back to Jinhae to meet some of my friends and try her hand at some Korean karaoke! On Sunday, my church family and I said goodbye to Mike and Carol Neuman. Long time members of the church, they returned to their home in Colorado. In celebration we all went to Outback Steakhouse for lunch, and if you were wondering the answer is, yes. Yes, it tastes just like back home- delicious!

In the next few weeks there are several opportunities to get out of the city a bit for various fall festivals in neighboring cities. I’m looking forward to experiencing some Korean culture and foods! On a totally random side note: I went and saw the recent Julia Roberts movie “Eat. Pray. Love.” this weekend. I will just say that I didn’t really enjoy it all that much. The plot was bland and the message wasn’t really all that profound or even applicable. That’s it. I just felt compelled to tell the cyber world my personal reflection on a mediocre movie that thank God I saw for free!

Thank you so much for your continued support of me and your interest in keeping up with my life! Please contact me if you ever have any questions, prayer request, or just want to talk! You can find all my contact info under the tab at the top of the page. Also, please continue to pray in these ways this week:

~There have been some unexpected stresses at work. Please pray for discernment in dealing with these problems.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers
~Patience in understanding God’s plan for my life
~Becca Prieb & Katie Heisey, are currently traveling and serving God in Bangladesh. Follow them at http://beckat.wordpress.com

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Living in Korea and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

