It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

It’s that time of year again. Christmas is just around the corner so everything has to revolve around buying gifts, listening to Christmas music, sipping hot cocoa by the fire…wait, I’ve never done that. In fact, this Christmas season has hardly felt like Christmas at all! Most of my Christmas gifts for loved ones back home were bought online, I’ve hardly heard any holly jolly tunes while I’m out and about, and I certainly don’t think my heated floors count as a cozy fire! It hardly feels like Christmas at all! I suppose Korea’s barely 20% Christian population and total American commercialized product of the holiday has something to do with that. It’s just not as big of a deal here. Couple that with the fact that I’m away from family, any real Christmas trees, or even a real vacation from work! I get one day off…December 31st. (Did I mention that it doesn’t snow here?!) I suppose most of my favorite holidays will go like this. After all, I barely remembered it was Thanksgiving!

Still, it’s really been a great month. I completed my seemingly never-ending tour de Korea this weekend with a trip to Daegu (Korea’s 3rd largest city). I had a fantastic time with my Korean friends Minnie, Liz, and Damon, but I think I’ll lay low for a while. And by lay low, I just mean stick around my city! I want to make sure that I’m continuing to invest in the lives of the relationships that I already have. That can be hard to do when I feel spread thin by all the new people I meet just about every week! God has certainly blessed me with so many friends here! Today in church we had the opportunity to share our testimonies or any other thoughts. I briefly spoke about our church as a family and even quoted Acts 2:42-47 which talks about the church and the fellowship of believers. I am always so encouraged when I am surrounded by those who walk in the Light as I do. The church here in Korea has in so many ways been my closest family. It’s like a breath of fresh air whenever I can share what’s really on my heart with people who can see me and understand where I’m coming from.

The Lords been trying to get my attention lately. With all this traveling, relationship building, and working two jobs, I often put my time alone with Him on the back burner. It’s so easy for me to do. However, God is a jealous God and he doesn’t want my fantasy football weekly research to come before Him. So, I need to become more disciplined with setting aside time so that I can spend time with my Father. I’m writing this all out because I want you, my friends and family, to keep my accountable for this.

Lastly, I wanted to talk briefly about my very good friend Soo Wang. We met about 3 months ago while I was hiking in Jinhae and he has been like a father figure to me ever since. Usually every other week we meet after I get off work to have dinner or even go to a Korean bath house! I wanted to meet his family so this evening he treated me to dinner with his wife and daughter at my favorite restaurant in Jinhae. He is such a kind man and I always enjoy our conversations together. While Soo Wang and his family don’t attend church or practice any organized religion, God has really placed a special burden on my heart for him and his family. I really want for them to come to know Jesus. I’m not sure how or when, but I want to be obedient to this calling in any way that I can. You can help me by petitioning to Christ through prayer. I believe in the power of prayer. And if Saul could be transformed to Paul, then Soo Wang and the entire Lee family too could be born again in Christ!

I can’t believe it has been 4 months already, time has just flown! Thank you so much for your continued support and prayer in my time here in Korea and please know that I am also praying for you! Please continue to pray in these areas:

~Soo Wang and the entire Lee family
~Obedience to God
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Endurance and encouragement while working two jobs
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Korean Travels, Living in Korea, Other Important Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

  1. Bruce Cattell says:

    Caleb – You are my hero! I am encouraged everytime that Iread about your adventures and that your steady faith in Jesus provides your friendly and loving approach to everything you do. I WILL keep you in my prayers. The last 4 months I have been really studying Paul and his travels. I know what you mean when you are waiting and hoping that you don’t miss God direction for you. I suppose it’s all the noice that we think we have to surround ourselves with. I truly believe the quiet time of early morning is when I hear Him – nudging me, encouraging me and clearing my eyes to really understand when Paul tell’s us about how great God is. We are free because of the love of Jesus Christ. Thank you for what you do! God bless you! I pray that he will continue to energize you and protect you.

Leave a Reply

