Thank God for Acetaminophen!

While I haven’t been out of my city for some time now, I’ve still managed to stay fairly busy in this coldest time of the year. Whether it be getting all suited up to drive my scooter in the frosty air or going for a run around my neighborhood in my shorts, I’ve still managed to spend a good amount of this winter outdoors! Fortunately, temperatures should very gradually start to inch their way back to the positive side from here on out. And as that happens, I can only imagine the inevitable amount of activities that will be added to my weekly schedule.

Some recent highlights:

New Years/Wedding: Two of my closest fellow American teacher friends got hitched on New Years day. It was a lovely wedding and I had the privilege of playing piano along side of my friend Jacob who played the violin. Of course, like most weddings (or things with time schedules for that matter) the wedding didn’t start at 11:11 as was hoped. Therefore, Jacob and I had to turn our 20 some minutes of prepared music into about 55! Fortunately, making stuff up on the fly is what we are best at. So after a few makeshift chord progressions and a little “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” melody thrown in there, we were finally able to rest our worn out musical minds and fingers! The rest of the wedding went by wonderfully and I believe everyone had a great time. I was also able to spend quite a bit of time with Hannah and Stephen’s sibs who were visiting Korea for the wedding.

Winter Session:For the month of January, my school has switched hours to a daytime schedule rather than my usual afternoon/evening work hours. There have been some goods and bads to the change, but it really hasn’t bothered me too much. Because of the change I am only working my one job and not my kindergarten position. I will resume working at the kindergarten in February which I’m excited to get back into! On another note, my school will soon be replacing one of my co-workers and best friends in Korea, Liz. She’ll be finishing up her contract at the end of this month and seeking a position in a public school. While I’m sad to her leave, I’m excited to see who God puts at the school as her replacement!

Sickness:I was feeling sort of sick for a solid month in a half. Fortunately, through a potent mixture of God’s grace, Theraflu, Sinex, Mucinex, and Sudafed (all containing Acetaminophen), my body has been healed! I’m trying my best to stay healthy and not take any days off of work…I need them all for vacation days!

Weekend Happenings:Because I have been trying to stay more homebound, I’ve spent most of my weekends in and around town. I’ve kept busy with friends going to movies, eating Burger King, and even seeing a pro Korean basketball game! It’s been really fun and relaxing the last month but come February I’ll be ready to get out and at it again. All of Korea will be celebrating the “Lunar New Year” which is based on the Chinese calendar. Big whoop, huh?! Well, this means I get 3 days off of work. So yeah, BIG WHOOP!

New Friends:While I have a pretty well established group of friends, God has still been blessing me with meeting new people. Young and old, I feel like I am always getting to know a new face. I love that God has entrusted me with the opportunity to share his love with the people I am getting to know. My prayer is that I would continue to be intentional in this way and constantly be conscious of my actions as they could easily influence those around me.

Coming Soon:In just 10 days, I am getting my first visitor to Korea! My best friend, Rebecca, is coming to visit for about a week in a half. Please pray for her safe travels to Korea and that she wouldn’t get sick before she leaves. Also, the guys I play soccer with here in Changwon are putting together some games for this spring. Should be a great way to start getting my touch back for the summer! Lastly, I just finished up a winter update video that I’ll be posting later this week. Check back later to see it for yourself!

Please continue to pray in these areas:
~My friend Jessi’s sister has come down with mono just days before her visit here to Korea. Pray for her quick recovery.
~Rebecca as she prepares to travel to Korea on Jan 27th
~My friend Liz as she looks for a new job
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Living in Korea, New Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank God for Acetaminophen!

  1. Bruce Cattell says:

    Caleb – I will look for bananas at the next CHS b’ball game. It will be tough giving up popcorn for a nanner!

Leave a Reply

