Awake My Seoul

Exactly 2 weeks ago now I got a very special visitor here in Korea- Rebecca Prieb. She came all the way from Fresno, CA to spend about a week and half with me. She brought with her some great weather that would set the tone for a really great 11 days. I had 7 of those 11 days off work because of the Korean national holiday “Solnal” or Chinese Lunar New Year.

I took upon myself to make sure that Becca had the full Korean experience when she came. So, I started off her first true night in Korea with some Korean BBQ, karaoke, outdoor trampolines, and a whole lot of friends! The next day included a trip to my favorite DVD room where you and how ever many friends can pick out your favorite movie and watch it on a projector screen. I was fortunate enough to bring Becca to my kindergarten job which was an experience for her I’m sure! She spent most of my 7 years old class holding a girl who thought it would be hilarious to scream every 5 minutes!

Mid-way through her trip we took a trip with my friends Greg and Kristen to Seoul for 3 days. The visit was really great and we were able to do and see so much! On one of the days we hiked up a mountain that had a tower that overlooked all of Seoul. It was so beautiful to see at night! Another day we took a tour of the DMZ. It was such a great learning experience and I highly recommend it if you ever find yourself in Korea! One night we went ice skating for only a dollar! However, I would have rather paid a little more and not come home with the red souvenir provided by my rental skate that I’m now scratching every other minute! We ate like kings whenever we could and even made 2 trips to Taco Bell (they’re only in Seoul)!

In Becca’s last few days we did some hiking, went to a basketball, and even visited a friend of ours from Bethel in the neighboring city, Busan. By the time rolled around that she had to go home, I felt like we had done a hundred things but still could have done a hundred more! I think I can speak for the both of us when I say that her visit was a breath of fresh air and I am very thankful that God worked all of it out. It truly did awake my soul. Thanks for coming Rebecca!

Becca’s arrival also marked the half way mark of my one-year contract here in South Korea. Many of you may be wondering what I’ll be doing or where I’ll be this time next year…and I’m still wondering that myself! However, I have begun my search for the next path that the Lord wants to take me on. I’m still not sure if it will be teaching, or if it will even be in America! I’m just seeking after whatever is His will and not my own. So please pray for my direction too. Thanks!

Please continue to pray in these areas:
~PRAISES:My friend Jessi’s sister was able to come to Korea!; My friend Liz has found a job!; Becca made it to Korea and back safe and sound!
~My sister, Alyssa, and her husband are looking to buy a house. Pray that the Lord provides
~Pray for my careful job search for next year and that I am seeking after the Lord’s will
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Exploring Korea, Korean Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

