Spring has Sprung!

Today was the most beautiful day I’ve seen in the last 3 months. It was about 60 degrees out, blue skies, and I was stuck inside teaching for most of it! As disappointed as I am that I missed out on an endless array of adventures that this day dangled in front of me, I am still thankful for the change in seasons. This week has ushered in spring time here in Korea and I thank the Lord that my days of double pants and jackets on the scooter are over! Don’t get me wrong, I love me a little winter…it helps me appreciate the summer warmth once it finally does roll around. I suppose I’m just excited to have feeling in my fingers whenever I arrive at my destination.

February has been a pretty chill month for me. I’ve sort of gotten pack into the usual swing of things around here with work, TTT, Wednesday night soccer, church, and hanging out with friends here and there. But one thing that I’ve really began to embrace that I was so afraid of when I first came to Korea is spending time alone. I feel such a relief when I know that I have the next 3-4 hours to myself. And in those times I feel like I can settle down and wrap myself around what’s important. So, what is important to Caleb Hatfield right now you ask…

What’s after Korea? I’m currently in the process of figuring out where the Lord wants me this time next year. Well, as I see it right now there are a few options. The first, and most likely prospect, is heading back to the states to find an elementary teaching position. I’m currently looking heavily in Virginia, Indiana, and most other states in the region. Eventually I’d like to end up in mountain country (Colorado…), but I think a good start would be somewhere closer to home. Another option is to work another year overseas probably teaching English. I certainly wouldn’t stay in the same school I’m in now or maybe not even Korea, but I’ve got the traveling bug and I wouldn’t mind another year away from the states. The third option is to do some missions work. There are a couple of month to year-long commitments that have interested me around the world and I can’t dismiss these as viable possibilities at this point. So, I’ve been deep in prayer with God seeking His direction in this and I am confident that He will make his will done in my life!

“Take delight in the Lord; and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn, your vindication like the noonday sun.” Psalm 4-6

Some other sporadic thoughts: Yesterday was my last day with the oldest of my kindergarteners because of graduation. (see pictures)They’re my favorite students at either of my schools so it was tough to say goodbye. It was even harder to convey to 7-year-old Korean children in English how much they meant to me and that I would never forget them even when they’ll probably forget my name in a couple of months. I’ve also been trying to get back into running shape. Some friends and I are planning to do a half-marathon this spring so I’ve really got to get back into the habit! I’ve recently been really craving a trip to Disney world. Seeing as I went every other year between the ages of 15-20, I’m due up for one soon! We got a record amount of snow in Jinhae last Monday. The locals were in dismay in the massive amount of white that blanketed the streets in the morning. People were shoveling the streets with broken pieces of plywood! Schools were actually closed which gave me my first snow day as a teacher! Our kick-around soccer team that I play with on Wednesday nights recently had its first victory over a Busan club team. We won 3-2 in OT. My mother is visiting in exactly a week so I’m excited for her to visit!

Thank you to everyone who continues to show interest and support in my overseas adventures. I am excited to come home in just 4 months for two weddings and to see everyone! Please continue to pray in these ways~

~PRAISES: My friend Jessi got a new job in Changwon (closer to all her friends/church) and will be moving over soon!; My friend Haemi was offered a job with an airline after a very long process and big step of faith!; My friend Katie was offered a nursing position in Virginia!
~My friend Minnie is finishing her last week at her school today. Pray that the Lord leads her wherever it is he has planned!
~My good friends Nate and Emily are leaving Korea for 5 months as they prepare to teach at an international school in August. Pray that their move this weekend goes over with no problems and that there stay in America is rejuvenating.
~Pray that my moms first major overseas experience is good and that she makes all her flights and stays healthy!
~My sister, Alyssa, and her husband are looking to buy a house. Pray that the Lord provides
~Pray for my careful job search for next year and that I am seeking after the Lord’s will
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Living in Korea, Other Important Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

