A Restful May, Enter June

Since I wrote last, May has carried on in a very pleasant manner. Between weeks of my typical daily regimen of work, soccer, and eating, I’ve spent the weekends taking it for the most part “easy”. It’s been a pretty conducive task as the weather has been getting nicer and nicer. Unfortunately, lurking behind the corner that is June awaits a terrible menace which makes Korea in the summer an unfortunate place to live. Rain. While I am more than willing to tolerate the occasional shower, Korea has a very humid and wet summer that brings about rainfall nearly every other day! Nevertheless, myself and Pearl (my always willing scooter) will endure the misty commutes to and from work!

In the last couple of weeks, I’ve had the chance to meet some new foreigners and say goodbye to others. While most of my original group of friends is still in tact, the end of this summer will inevitably bring about some tears of farewell, some of which will be for me. I’m still not sure on my exact departure from Korea but I have made a promise to be home by Thanksgiving. I finish with my current year-long contract at the end of August but I have plans to stay in Korea roughly 2 months longer. This is because I find it wisest to save a little more while I’m here and have a job before I return stateside and begin the arduous process of finding a job. As you know, I am really excited to return home but like living in any place for an extended time, leaving Korea for good will be difficult. I have established an identity and stake in this country, these people, and what I have been doing. In the end, leaving Korea may be just as difficult as it was to leave America.

Fortunately for me, I’ll have a little taste of home in less than 3 weeks. As I have written, on June 17th I will be returning home for 8 very short days. I’m thrilled at the opportunity to see my cousin and best friend get married, let alone see the many loved ones that I haven’t seen for almost a year! It is my sincere hope that I will get to see as many of YOU as possible during that time.

Your continued prayers for me are never taken for granted. I genuinely appreciate every one of you that takes time away from your day to think about me. While the future is hopeful, there are still a lot of questions running through my head as to where I will be this time next year. Does the Lord have plans for me to be teaching in America? If so, where? I continue to pray for discernment and wisdom as I seek out where it is God wants to lead me. I try my best not to box Him in and get Him to agree with what I want to do. Instead, I am praying that doors will be opened and closed. Please pray that I would be diligent in listening to what He wants to reveal to me. Prayer is effective and it is our 24/7 open line of communication to the Almighty. And in our prayer, we get to be part of the plans that He has for us. We get to see His perfect will play out in our lives as well as those around us.

“Thus says the Lord who made the earth, the Lord who formed it to establish it—the Lord is his name: Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.”
—Jeremiah 33:2-3

Please continue to pray in these ways:
~Praise: My friends Bryan got the job at East Noble!
~Many Korean people have no idea who God is. Pray for those I come into contact with to thirst for real truth
~That my trip home in June would be fruitful and go smoothly
~That the Word would continue to be spread in the hard to reach places and where Christians are not free to worship
~Pray for my careful job search for next year and that I am seeking after the Lord’s will
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Living in Korea, Other Important Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

