Half the Fun is to Plan the Plan

Back in Korea. Back into the groove of things. I’ve been spending the last few weeks going about my regular business here. TTT on Tuesdays, soccer on Wednesdays, teaching awesome songs/dances to my kindergarteners, and whatever other shenanigans come about on the weekends. The only downside to all this has been the coming and lingering of the rainy season. When I stare hopefully at my Changwon 10-day forecast, I’m usually left feeling pessimistic. Every day, there is a chance for showers and if there isn’t any rain, the ground still seems to always be wet and the air is inevitably sticky. But, that all is just a silly thing to complain about when you think of all the REAL problems happening in the world!

Almost to the day, I’m 4 short months away from officially returning home to America. I feel as if I have so many things left to do, places to see, and people to meet before I’m ready to be done. That said, coasting is not in my plans for the coming months. As you read, I’m figuring out how to fit “it” all together. I’m referring to the plan that the Lord is revealing to me day by day. The plan is to travel, seek, discover, learn, and serve…and maybe enjoy a little bit too. It’ll all kick-off with the completion of my contract here at Ewha ASL at the end of August. I will then spend the month of September soaking up what’s left of my time in Korea and preparing for the next 2 months. In early October I will be traveling to Thailand via Bangkok and spending roughly 2 1/2 weeks there. I have already began the process of contacting several missionaries, organizations, and individuals about what I can do to get involved. I’ve decided that this trip should be more than just a vacation for sightseeing, but that I should seek out what the Lord is doing in this part of the world. There’s nothing wrong with vacations, we all need them! But, I feel an impulse in my gut that I need to use this opportunity and my resources to learn and serve.

The plan is coming together slowly but surely. I’m excited about the way that God is bringing it all together. When I get an email from a contact or I read how to get from one place to another, I can’t help but thank God for his provision! Right now I’m planning to travel through Thailand visiting the cities of Bangkok, Chonburi, Chiang Mai, and Chiang Rai. I’m also attempting a trip to Siem Reap, Cambodia as well as a stop in Vientiane, Laos. If you know of anyone in these countries that I could try to meet with or stay with, please let me know! Also, I really appreciate your prayers for wisdom and discernment through this whole process!

I will then return to Korea for one last week at the end of October. I’ll say my goodbyes and collect my things before heading off to Manila, Philippines to meet up with John Dorrell who is currently working long-term for an orphanage/school. I’ll be spending close to two weeks with John and the kids helping out where I can and serving the people there in whatever capacity is needed. I’m excited about this opportunity to serve where my passion is strongest, children. Come mid-November, I’ll be boarding my plane to return home where I plan to go through culture shock and get fat at home through the holidays.

I can’t tell you how excited I am to discover what it is God is planning. I already feel so blessed to have the opportunities that I have here in Korea and believe that even greater things are still to come. Thank you to you for your loyal support and prayers in my time abroad and I look forward to seeing you when I return home for good!

Please continue to pray in these ways:
~My good friends Stephen and Hannah will be returning to America in a week. Pray for the transition as well as their search for jobs back home.
~Travel to Thailand and The Philippines. Pray for God’s will in the planning.
~Many Korean people have no idea who God is. Pray for those I come into contact with to thirst for real truth
~That the Word would continue to be spread in the hard to reach places and where Christians are not free to worship
~Pray for my careful job search for next year and that I am seeking after the Lord’s will
~Discernment, wisdom, and patience for God’s will
~Friends in the States are still seeking employment. Pray that God provides for those needs.
~Finding ways I can be Jesus to my friends, students, co-workers, and perfect strangers

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in New Experiences, Other Important Life Stuff, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

