Pearl

I love my scooter. In fact, I love “it” so much that I named her Pearl. We’ve made some great memories over the last year…I remember our first time together. We thought to go out for just a leisurely ride but 10 seconds and a guard rail later, we were far off from some uneventful cruise through the streets. I knew from that moment on I had been changed and the scars on my hands hold the proof. Things didn’t slow down from there either. A few months later we’d find ourselves both laying on the freeway a few feet from a large dented gray passenger van. While I walked…limped away more or less unscathed Pearl did not. And seeing that my love for her had already grown so deep, I couldn’t just let her go. Fortunately, 300 dollars can do wonders and Pearl was as healthy as ever! You might be thinking to yourself, what did your parents think of Pearl? Did they really support your decision to invest so much time, money, and skin into her? Well, I needed Pearl (she got me between work and home everyday) and they saw that need.

Pearl and I would then spend the next several months trying to keep warm through a very chilly winter. Pearl would get sick pretty often and would end up sounding like Chewbaca from Star Wars so I started frequently referring to her as Pearlbaca. For better or worse, I stuck with her and I haven’t regretted a single day that we’ve spent together…even last week when she stopped working in the middle of nowhere. While I’ll be passing Pearl onto a new owner this Thursday, the time that we’ve shared will always be a cherished memory in my life. I know that there will be other “Pearls” in my life, but like they say, you never forget your first love.

Because of her impending exit from my life, I’ve really spoiled Pearl lately. In my unemployment we’ve spent several sunny afternoons driving about the Korean countryside. Feel free to check out some of our adventures below in the pictures! I sincerely believe that getting Pearl was one of the best decisions I made while living here in Korea. Having the blessing of mobility that she granted really allowed me to experience a Korea that I think few get to. Pearl, here’s to you!

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Exploring Korea, Living in Korea and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pearl

  1. Bruce says:

    Caleb – that was an excellent tribute to a sentimental, I almost wrote reliable, friend. I’m sure she understood everything you told her, and felt the love when you told her in a slightly elevated tone. you need to make sure that you find a convenient ledge, guard rail or the like that will hold your camera so we can see you and Pearl together in the same frame. I continue to love reading about your adventures and seeing your wonderful pic’ and vid’s. take care and be safe. Bruce

  2. Jim Hatfield says:

    Wow, that is such a cuddly cute story Caleb. Thanks for sharing . . .

Leave a Reply

