Onward to Egypt!

This blog, previously known as Caleb’s blog, has now become our blog. Yup, I’m jumping on board with this thing, and also keeping the title the same – as it seems to fit where we’re both headed in the near future! This coming August, Caleb and I will be finding ourselves moving across the world (or, pond, as the title suggests), to a new country and a new stage of life – Egypt!

So why Egypt?? Great question!

Caleb and I have wanted to live overseas for some time now. It’s never been a question of if, but more of where, and when? In our process of looking for teaching jobs for Caleb overseas, our original plan had been to land somewhere in eastern Europe. However, as we began applying we also began to realize that jobs in eastern Europe are competitive and a lot harder to come by than we once thought. Once this realization began to set in, we decided that if we wanted to get a job overseas, we should probably start looking at other options. So Caleb began applying to international schools all over the world. And out of all the applications and resumes that were sent in, two schools in Cairo responded.

One of the interviews Caleb had was with the director of the American International School of Egypt. He felt really good about the interview, but the director wasn’t sure if he’d be able to offer Caleb the position he wanted, which was teaching 5th grade history/science. He said he would get back to Caleb within 2-3 weeks and let him know if they had anything to offer him. Throughout the entire interview, I was praying that if God wanted us in Egypt, He would open doors and make it incredibly clear that this was the place He wanted us to be. Well, not even two hours later, the director e-mailed Caleb back saying that they would be able to offer him the exact position he wanted! We took the next few days to think and pray about our decision, and as we did it became more and more clear to us that this a job we were supposed to take. Come to find out, we even have some friends we already know who are teaching at the exact same school! We’ve been able to talk with them, ask them all our questions, and feel really good about our decision to move based on our conversations. (And also be reassured that it is, indeed, safe to go there! 🙂 ) It’s a 2-year contract, so Caleb and I will be able to come home during the summers while we’re there, which is a big plus!

So that’s the big news! Caleb and I will continue to work through the month of May, after which we’ll both stop working and spend the summer visiting family and friends. As far as a job out in Egypt for me, I’m still looking into some options. I’m not sure that I’ll be able to do nursing, but there may be some other options working in the school systems there, which would be fine!

Our main request is that you would keep Caleb and I in your prayers during this time. There are a lot of decisions we have to make and details that need to get sorted out before we leave. Also that the adjustment of moving to Egypt would be a good one – making friends, finding a church, getting acclimated to a new language…there will be a LOT of changes! But we’re so excited and so grateful for this opportunity that we have to learn about another people, dive into a new culture, and have an experience that will change our lives forever!

We will continue to update you on our journey and fill you in on the details. Thanks for coming along on this adventure with us!!

We're moving to Egypt!

We’re moving to Egypt!

About Caleb and Becca

We are married. We are in Egypt. We have a son.
This entry was posted in Egypt, New Experiences, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Onward to Egypt!

  1. Jennie Thollander says:

    Oh I’m coming along alright.

  2. Bruce Cattell says:

    Good luck to the both of you! The people of Cairo are in for a special treat.

  3. Sheila says:

    Caleb & Becca ~ I am so excited for you both! God is so good! My prayers and thoughts are with both of you as well as your families and friends as you prepare in the coming months for the big move! ~ Sheila

  4. andreajoyk says:

    Hi Becca! It’s been years since we’ve talked, but miraculously you popped up in my facebook feed:) I spent a semester in college in Cairo and a city south of it, and had an incredible experience. I know a number of people that would be good contacts for you and Caleb, in the practicals of moving and adjusting there, and perhaps in finding Christian community. Drop me a line if you want to catch up via phone/skype one of these days! Sending warm hugs and my prayers. Love, Andrea Kraybill

  5. Tracey Benford says:

    Wow is all I can say!!! This is Tracey, I used to work with Caleb while subbed in Kindergarten in Charlottesville. What an awesome privilege you two have to actually fulfill a hearts desire. God bless you both on your journey and may you experience God in such a way that it will draw people to you all and your purpose for being in Cairo. If you have never read this book called Experiencing God by Henry and Richard Blackaby, I encourage you to get it and read it while you are there! It basically teaches you how to hear from God and see what he is doing around you to fulfill his purpose. I think it will be a blessing for you all as well as the people you all with impact for the kingdom of God while you are there! I told Caleb a few years back, when me and Kelly were pressuring him about his intent to marry you,…lol..that I saw a sweet pastoral gift on his life. I did and still sense God’s hand on you all for lots of things but mainly ministry/missions. So its no surprise to me that you all are venturing out into the deep. I have subscribed to this blog so I can stay in prayer with you all so send lots of updates. And I leave you with a verse from a song called Oceans by Hillsong United which is sooooo befitting(if you don’t know it go listen to it..it is amazing): “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters, wherever you would call me, take me deeper than my feet could ever wonder, let my faith be made stronger in the presence of my Savior”
    Isaiah 30:21(AMP): And your ears will hear a word behind you, saying this is the way; walk in it, when you turn to the right hand and when you turn to the left.

Leave a Reply

